The Literary Review reveals its shortlist for the 2013 Bad Sex in Fiction Awards

Considered Britain's most dreaded literary award, the Literary Review states that the contest was started in 1993 to "to draw attention to the crude, badly written, often perfunctory use of redundant passages of sexual description in the modern novel, and to discourage it." It is not intended to highlight pornographic or "expressly erotic" material. 



This year's short list of possible winners includes: 



  • My Education by Susan Choi
  • The Last Banquet by Jonathan Grimwood
  • House of Earth by Woody Guthrie
  • Motherland by William Nicholson
  • The Victoria System by Eric Reinhardt
  • The World Was All Before Them by Matthew Reynolds
  • The City of Devi by Manil Suri
  • Secrecy by Rupert Thomson


The final winner will be announced on December 3, 2013.